From the Law Offices of Tina M. Barberi, PC, congratulations to all our graduates this year.
As you know, graduation is a day to celebrate all of your hard work, achievements, and accomplishments. You should be proud of yourself for achieving this milestone.
Graduations are meant to be celebrated. You should have fun and enjoy your moment.
Be aware that enjoying your graduation with alcohol can lead to disastrous consequences if you are over 21 and do not drink responsible. As you and your family are involved in the festivities, please be sure to stay safe.
DUI charges in Fresno increase significantly in the months of May and June. If you or a loved is graduating from college or high school, make sure you do not get charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The law is severe for anyone drinking and driving and therefore, if you drink, stay out of your car.
Underage drinking is a major concern.
It is estimated that in the United States, nearly 11 million underage people consume alcohol.
4,300 deaths annually are caused by underage drinking.
Unrestrained drivers 16 to 20 are over 3x as likely to be alcohol impaired than drivers of that age range who use seatbelts. (See Edgar Snyder & Associates, https://www.edgarsnyder.com/car-accident/who-was-injured/teen/underage-drinking-statistics.html for more statistics on alcohol use by persons under 21 years old).
Fresno police are constantly cracking down of anyone under 21 years old because California has a zero tolerance law.
If you are under 21 and drive with even a 0.01% BAC, you violate California’s zero tolerance law. You will be in charged with a crime if there is a finding that you drove with any measurable amount of alcohol in your system. Additionally, even having alcohol in your possession can lead to bigger problems that you can even image.
Another problem with individuals under 21 occurs if you are convicted of any alcohol related offense. DMV will suspend your license for a period of one year. Even if you do not have a driver’s license, your ability to obtain a driver’s license will be postponed for one year. Worse yet, if you refused to submit to a chemical blood or breath test as an underage drinker, you face a suspension of one to three years.
If you are under 21 years old, remember to celebrate sober. If your family and friends are consuming alcohol, do NOT allow them to drive while under the influence of alcohol. The best advice I can give is: ONE DRINK = NO DRIVING.
The effects of receiving a DUI, or an alcohol related charge, are daunting and have lingering effects.
Although we hope it doesn’t happen to you, we are here if you need us! If you need help fighting a DUI or other charge while you are under 21, we can offer aggressive and determined legal representation.
Facing criminal charges is no way to end your celebration. We offer affordable, flat rate fees and consultations are always free.
If you just received a DUI, remember you only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing or you will lose your license. By contacting the Law Offices of Tina M. Barberi, P.C., we will request a DMV hearing for you for free. Call us right away for your free consultation.